2:21 pm - Wednesday December 19, 2018

FIFA Best Player award shortlist: Mbappe, Modric in; Neymar out

Written by | July 24, 2018 | 0
Modric and Mbappe enjoyed a breathtaking World Cup

World Cup stars Kylian Mbappe and Luka Modric are among the contenders to end Cristiano Ronaldo’s hold on FIFA’s The Best Men’s Player award after the shortlist was announced on Tuesday, but Neymar was not among the nominees.

Ronaldo, who has won this honour in both years of its existence, is once again nominated, but faces arguably his toughest challenge yet, following so many impressive performances in Russia.




OFFICIAL | The nominees for FIFA Men’s Player 2018:
Cristiano Ronaldo
Kevin De Bruyne
Antoine Griezmann
Eden Hazard
Harry Kane
Kylian Mbappe
Lionel Messi
Luka Modric
Mohamed Salah
Raphael Varane

For the period 3 July 2017-15 July 2018

The award honours the standout player from July 3, 2017 to July 15, 2018 — and in that period, Modric won the Champions League with Real Madrid, while also helping Croatia reach the World Cup final where his performances earned him the Golden Ball.

Club teammate Raphael Varane enjoyed an even more stellar summer as he won both the Champions League with Real Madrid and the World Cup with France, and was an integral player for both.

But France’s star in Russia was Mbappe, who came to the fore in the knockout stages with his four goals which helped Les Bleus win the tournament for a second time. He was named the Best Young Player and became the first teenager to score in a World Cup final since Pele in 1958.

However, Ronaldo will still be confident of making it three in a row, as he once again finished top scorer in the Champions League. His 15 goals — five more than anyone else — helped Los Blancos win the trophy for a third successive season. And, while he would have expected to make a bigger impact in Russia, he still hit a hattrick again Spain, which included one of the goals of the tournament with a stunning late free-kick.

Similarly, Lionel Messi may have failed to show his best in Russia, but he enjoyed a breathtaking campaign with Barcelona, which saw the Blaugrana win a La Liga and Copa del Rey double. Messi finished as the division’s leading marksman with 34 goals, which saw him win the European Golden Shoe.

His stunning hattrick in Ecuador which allowed Argentina to qualify for Russia also fell in this period.

Antoine Griezmann is the third World Cup-winner on the list, as the striker’s four goals — including one in the final — were crucial in helping France leaving Russia victorious. He also scored a brace in Atletico Madrid’s 3-0 Europa League final triumph over Marseille.

Ligue 1’s Player of the Year, Neymar, was not among the nominees, while Manchester United’s Paul Pogba also misses out, despite receiving wide-spread praise for his performances in Russia.

Filed in: Sports

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Human Verification: In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.